Wednesday, February 10, 2010

Mission CISD Campus Teachers of the Year Announced

    Each Mission CISD (Consolidated Independent School District) campus has announced their selection for Teacher of the Year at their school.  These top teachers have now been entered into the Mission CISD Teacher of the Year program.  It is from this program that one elementary and on secondary teacher will be selected to represent Mission CISD in the Regional Teacher of the Year contest.

      Last year, Rosa Blanton from Leal Elementary School was selected as the District Elementary Teacher of the Year and Everardo Castellano from Mission High School was the Secondary Teacher of the Year.

      The 15 elementary campus Teachers of the Year for this year are: Dolores Reyna, Alton Elementary School; Sonia Salinas, Bryan Elementary School; Fernando Perez, Cantu Elementary School; Roxann Martinez, Castro Elementary School; Yvonne Perez, Cavazos Elementary School; Gracie Rodriguez, Escobar/Rios Elementary School; Elizabeth Adkins,Leal Elementary School; Eduardo Martinez, Marcell Elementary School; Sandra Rios, Midkiff Elementary School; Sara McCormick, Mims Elementary School; Norma Garcia,Newcomers Academy; Antonio Urrabazo, O'Grady Elementary School; Lauro Flores, Pearson Elementary School; Nancy Cardenas, Salinas Elementary School; Nora (Terry) Gomez,Waitz Elementary School.

      The seven secondary campus Teachers of the Year are: Mary Solis, Alton Memorial Jr. High School; Norma Carrera, K. White Jr. High School; Val Rossi, Mission Jr. High School; Belinda Hinojosa, R. Cantu Jr. High School; Josefina (Josie) Flores, Mission High School; Liz Montes, Veterans Memorial High School; Miguel Fraire, Roosevelt Alternative School.

      Each of these 22 teachers is now filling out a questionnaire used in the Texas Teacher of the Year program.  The questionnaires will be reviewed by a panel of judges selected from the community.  These judges will make the final selection of the two teachers to represent Mission CISD in the regional competition.  The judges' decision will be announced at a special Teacher of the Year luncheon to be held on National Teacher Day, May 4.  Each campus Teacher of the Year will also be honored by the district administration and Board of Trusteesduring this special luncheon.

                                                                  # # #

Contact:  Craig Verley, Director of Public Relations and Marketing

1201 Bryce Drive, Mission Texas 78572

Office: (956) 323-5530•Fax: (956) 323-8103

No comments:

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...